Class 5 ‘Light’ MOT Training

What is a Class 5?

Class 5 vehicles are private passenger vehicles, ambulances, motor caravans and dual purpose vehicles, in all cases with 13 or more passenger seats. Class 5 light (5L) are limited to 5000KG design gross weight (DGW).


To become an Class 5L MOT Tester, you will need to be a qualified MOT tester in classes 4 and 7.

If you haven’t achieved this qualification, you can find out more here.

As from the 13th August 2017, to become a Class 5L (minibuses) MOT tester you’ll need to successfully complete:

  • additional training in Class 5L
  • a DVSA MOT demonstration test

Who might be interested in taking this course?

This qualification is developed for those individuals who wish to be able to MOT test class 5 (minibuses).

What we can do for you

  • A full days hands-on practical training at our training centre on our very own class 5 minibus
  • Your VT8 (demonstration test) with the DVSA to be done at our training centre with an assistant on hand to help


  • Training and Class 5L exam
  • Full use of our Class 5L vehicle for the DVSA demonstration test
  • 1 full days tailored training in our state-of-the-art training facility with the latest class 5 equipment to teach you how to carry out a Class 5L test
  • Full support and an assistant during your VT8 (demonstration test) with the DVSA at our training centre